Celebrating achievements of PPS students and staff

Posted by Dr. Sharon Desmoulin-Kherat on 3/8/2019 4:30:00 PM

Every day, Peoria Public School students and staff members celebrate achievements. Some victories may be barely noticeable but truly life-altering – the second-grade student who cracks the code of reading comprehension or a middle-school student who successfully masters self-regulation, one of five Social Emotional Learning (SEL) core competencies. 


Other achievements are more public and this week I offer congratulations on some recent accomplishments by students and staff.


Two Peoria Public School students competed in the IHSA State Speech tournament. Manual Academy senior Tyra Johnson, competed in the Prose Reading, placing 5th and in the Poetry Reading events. Richwoods High School senior Lily Mura competed in the Impromptu Speaking event.


The Woodruff Career and Technical Center (WCTC) Culinary Arts restaurant management team, placed first in the Illinois Restaurant Association ProStart Tournament. This is the second year in a row the WCTC Restaurant Management team, coached by Chefs Jitske Miedema and Kevin Roecker, have taken the top prize in Illinois. The team advances to the national tournament in May in Washington D.C. Team members are Gabriel Hernandez, Peoria High School, Timia Weldy, Richwoods High School, and Keshawna Sledge, Richwoods High School. Each student won a $20,000 college scholarship.


Congratulations also to the Richwoods High School Swim and Dive Team and Coach Lynn Thompson on their 2019 IHSA Sectional Championship. Six team members advanced to the IHSA State Finals: Blake Torrey, Jared Aviles, Jacob Greenan, Zack Dollman, Yohan Bopearatchy and Daniel Matlock.


At last week’s board meeting we recognized the top-scoring readers in the district’s winter break Accelerated Reader (AR) competition. Our primary school winners for participation and percentage of students passing AR tests with over 85 percent were Charter Oak, Kellar and Whittier. The middle school winners were Von Steuben, Mark Bills and Washington Gifted. Harrison, Lincoln and Trewyn were the top scoring K-8 schools.


We also recognize recent achievements of PPS staff members.


Mrs. Diane Hines, a staff member at Knoxville Center for Student Success (KCSS), was recently inducted into the African American Hall of Fame Museum.


Lindbergh Middle School Principal Sue Malahy was one of eight Illinois finalists for the Golden Apple Awards for Excellence in Leadership. The Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Leadership honors exemplary performance in school leadership by a principal or head of school who has had a significant and sustained positive impact on the school, created a culture of inclusivity, and delivered dramatic student growth.


Finally, six Peoria Public School teachers recently earned National Board Certification, a rigorous and challenging professional accomplishment.  Congratulations to Dee Hagen, Katie Hobin and Susan Martin, all of Northmoor Primary School, Ashley Naleway and Beth Perce, Rolling Acres Middle School.

Kudos to our remarkable students and staff!